Green Eggs Cafe

Green Eggs Cafe
212 S 13th St
(267) 861-0314
www.greeneggscafe.com

Visited: Sunday, September 16, 2012
Spent: ~$40 for 2 people including tax and tip
Pros: Good mix of savory & sweet items, offers brunch on weekdays
Cons: No weekend reservations

* * * * * * * * * *

I’m a sucker for brunch, so after seeing Uwishunu’s guide to brunch last semester (one of the reasons I love this website so much), I knew I had to try Green Eggs Cafe. They specialize in brunch, and one thing I really like about this place is that they offer their brunch menu on weekdays too!

I’ve actually eaten here twice. The first time I came was in May during finals week (’cause this is what I do instead of studying, woohoo). I ordered the creme brulee french toast ($11) —

Creme Brulee French Toast ($11)

— which came drizzled in syrup, berries, and lots of vanilla anglaise cream. I recommend it if you have a strong sweet tooth like me!

My most recent trip here, I ordered the apple caramel french toast ($10), which was on their list of specials. It came plated very prettily with cinnamon sprinkled all around, and the French toast was topped with cookie bits and a big caramel wafer. Again, good for people with sweet tooths.

Apple Caramel French Toast ($10)

But my favorite dish at this place (at least so far) is their smoked lox eggs benedict ($11). I tried out a couple of brunch places in New York over the summer looking for something comparable, but to no avail. My friend and I liked it so much that he said, and I quote verbatim, “I’m going to name my kid Brunch Smoked Lox Eggs Benedict.” His children would be mocked forever but it really is the best eggs benedict I’ve ever had.

Smoked Lox Eggs Benedict ($11)

Some parting advice: come on a weekday if you can, because they don’t take weekend reservations which means you’ll have to wait. I waited about 30 minutes for a table for two on a Sunday morning, which wasn’t too bad (to pass the time, I ended up popping by Garces two blocks away to buy macarons). It’s apparently also a BYOB, but whether or not it’s a good idea to drink during brunch is up to your discretion…

Leave a Reply

