Ants Pants Cafe

Ants Pants Cafe
2212 South St
(215) 875-8002
www.antspantscafe.com

Visited: Sunday, September 30, 2012
Spent: ~$45 for 3 people including tax and tip
Pros: Sweet potato fries with sweet chili sauce
Cons: Everything else is mediocre

* * * * * * * * * *

Ants Pants Cafe is a small breakfast/sandwich nook on South Street. I’d been wanting to try it after reading that it serves Australian-styled brunch… for someone who’s never been to Australia, that sounded pretty exotic!

From their list of Aussie drinks, I ordered the flat white ($2.95), which is basically “double espresso served with steamed milk and layer of froth.” It tasted fine, like a normal espresso, but unfortunately the waitress served it lukewarm so it was really cold by the time I finished my food. 😦

Flat White

My two friends (Jane and Zoe) and I decided to split a side of sweet potato fries ($4.75) after reading recommendations for it on Yelp. They came with two dips – sour cream and sweet chili sauce. I didn’t care much for the sour cream, but the chili sauce went surprisingly well with the fries! (Or maybe I’m just biased towards sweet things… as always…) It was one of those dishes that you just keep eating and eating until you realize you’ve hit the bottom of the bowl.

Sweet Potato Fries

For my entree, I ordered the salmon platter ($8.75). It came with a bagel, cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, capers, dill cream cheese, and of course, smoked salmon. The dill cream cheese was tasty and went very well with the salmon. The platter was not bad, but nothing special.

Salmon Platter

Jane ordered the spinach, goat cheese, and caramelized onion omelette ($8.75) and Zoe ordered the dill scrambled eggs with feta ($8.75). I tried a bit of the omelette – I really dislike goat cheese so I didn’t like it overall, but the caramelized onions were surprisingly good in the omelette.

Spinach, Goat Cheese, and Caramelized Onion Omelette

Dill Scrambled Eggs with Feta

Bottom line: Relatively inexpensive breakfast/brunch staples, but nothing I’m particularly eager to return for.

Leave a Reply

